Your Name:

Your E-mail:

Your Message:

Local swimmers among first athletes named in Scottish Commonwealth squad

The first athletes chosen to represent Team Scotland at the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia have been announced.

A total of 31 athletes have been confirmed, across swimming and lawn bowls.

The Forth Valley is well represented, with Ross Murdoch, Duncan Scott and Kathleen Dawson among seven swimmers in the team.

Scotland are looking to build upon their performance at Glasgow 2014, where they won a record 53 medals.

Jon Doig OBE, Team Scotland Chef de Mission, said, “We are delighted to welcome our first athletes to Team Scotland 2018.

“We are off to a strong start with swimming and lawn bowls, two of Scotland’s most successful Commonwealth Games sports with a track record of success in Australia.

“They are also two of Australia’s top sports, so we can count on a fantastic atmosphere and tough competition in Gold Coast.

“Congratulations to all athletes selected and we look forward to Team Scotland 2018 taking shape over the coming months.”

Performance Director of Scottish Swimming, Ally Whike said, “I have been very pleased with the approach of the swimmers to the challenge of qualification.

“This will hold them in good stead to perform at the top of their game come April.”

Aileen Campbell, Minister for Public Health and Sport, said, “Congratulations to the athletes chosen to represent Scotland at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

“Swimming and lawn bowls helped us to our record medal haul in Glasgow and I have no doubt both sports will contribute to further success.

“The squads contain a mixture of experience and debutants with “Tattie” Marshall competing in his sixth games to Scott McLay stepping up from becoming Scotland’s most successful athlete at the Youth Commonwealth Games earlier this year.

“In Women and Girls and Sport Week, it’s great to see Hannah Miley, Kathleen Dawson, in the swimming and Caroline Brown, Claire Johnston, Kay Moran and Lesley Doig in the lawn bowls selected to compete in Gold Coast.”

David Gourlay, Bowls Scotland High Performance Head Coach added, “The coaching team and I are delighted to have such an experienced squad representing Scotland in the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

“The squad is a mixture of youth and players who have a proven track record at winning in the Southern Hemisphere.

“All players have and will continue to commit to a rigorous training programme which in turn will allow us to build on the success of Glasgow 2014.”

Mike Whittingham, Director of High Performance at the sportscotland Institute of Sport said, “Congratulations to all of the athletes who have been selected for Team Scotland today.

“Swimming and lawn bowls have traditionally been very successful Scottish sports and it’s fantastic to see that tradition continuing with a strong contingent set to represent Scotland at the Gold Coast.

“The athletes have worked hard to earn their selections, but they have not worked alone.

“Supporting every athlete is a ‘team behind the team’ comprised of coaches, families, governing bodies and the experts at the sportscotland institute of sport.

“We are proud to play our part in ensuring the athletes are prepared and ready to deliver on the world stage.”


Craig Benson Livingston / Stirling

Mark Campbell Peterhead / Aberdeen

Sean Campsie Livingston / Falkirk

Euan Inglis Aberdeen / Edinburgh

Kieran McGuckin Falkirk / Edinburgh

Scott McLay Perth / Stirling

Craig McLean Livingston / Stirling

Craig McNally Edinburgh / Glasgow

Stephen Milne Perth / Perth

Ross Murdoch Balfron / Stirling

Duncan Scott Alloa / Stirling

Mark Szaranek Glenrothes / Florida, USA

Calum Tait Milngavie / Edinburgh

Jack Thorpe Milngavie / Edinburgh

Dan Wallace Edinburgh / Edinburgh


Kathleen Dawson Warrington / Stirling

Lucy Hope Jedburgh/ Edinburgh

Keanna MacInnes Edinburgh / Edinburgh

Hannah Miley Inverurie / Aberdeen

Corrie Scott Strathaven / Edinburgh

Cassie Wild Edinburgh / Mold



Lindsay Lewis – Team Manager

Alan Lynn – Team Coach/Lead

Ann Dickson – Swimming Coach

Chris Jones – Swimming Coach

Steven Tigg – Swimming Coach

Ian Wright – Swimming Coach



Caroline Brown Motherwell / Motherwell

Lesley Doig Strathmiglo / Newburgh

Claire Johnston Irvine / Auchinleck

Stacey McDougall Dalkeith / Woodburn

Kay Moran Glasgow / Shell Cove, New South Wales


Darren Burnett Arbroath / Arbroath

Ronnie Duncan Bonnyrigg / Lasswade

Paul Foster Troon / Troon

Alex Marshall Tranent / Tranent

Derek Oliver Cockenzie / Cockenzie



Ricky Taylor – Team Manager

David Gourlay – Head Coach

George Sneddon – Coach

Sandra McLeish – Coach

Find us on Facebook

Signup to our VIP club

Subscribe to our VIP club and receive exclusive offers and news straight to your inbox